From Phyllida's Desk

Lady Amalie's memoirs to be released as ebooks

June 6, 2011

As some of you know, when I started writing, I adopted the persona of "Lady Amalie," a woman much like me, who found her true place in life on a sword-and-sorcery world.

The process by which I transformed Ann Herendeen, undistinguished citizen of Earth, into the aristocratic Lady Amalie Aranyi, was similar to the later transformation, one I'm still undergoing, into published author. Working on those early stories was how I became a writer. But I never tried to publish them. The first versions were dreadful, and by the time I had edited them into readability, I had moved on to other genres: to romantic comedy in the form of Regency romance and Jane Austen.

But now, with the growth of e-books and e-publishing, the time seems right to share these stories with the world. Lady Amalie is an engaging and sympathetic narrator, and she tells her unusual story with humor and a certain panache. I think her memoirs will appeal to fans of Phyllida and Pride/Prejudice.

In attributing authorship, I consider Lady Amalie to be the author, and Ann Herendeen the editor. A pseudonym can be more than a name; it reflects the different identities of the person who wrote these stories long ago, and the person who is editing them now.

On Wednesday, July 6, Recognition, the first book in the Eclipsis: Otherworld Home series (Book 1 of Lady Amalie's memoirs) will be released as an ebook in all formats, at the introductory price of $.99

I apologize to my readers who prefer print. For now, this is the easiest way to publish my old material. Perhaps, eventually, I can bring the complete series out in paperback.

In the meantime, I hope you enjoy Recognition.

Selected Works

Fantasy, Women's Fiction (e-books)
Book Six in the ECLIPSIS series of Lady Amalie's memoirs.
Book Five in the ECLIPSIS series of Lady Amalie's memoirs.
Book Four in the ECLIPSIS series of Lady Amalie's memoirs.
Book Three in the ECLIPSIS series of Lady Amalie's memoirs.
Book Two in the ECLIPSIS series of Lady Amalie's memoirs.
Book One in the ECLIPSIS series of Lady Amalie's memoirs.
Short Story
A queered version of the Cinderella story in the 4th Gay City anthology, "At Second Glance."
Newsletter article
Describes the typical upbringing of middle- and upper-class children in Austen's time.
Romantic Comedy, M/M/F Menage
A breezy tale of love, lust and secrets set against the backdrop of Regency England.